We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

It is the third largest continent on earth, just behind Asia and the Americas.

Along with the adjacent islands, it occupies about 30 million km2, covering 20.3% of the total land area of ​​the planet.

It is also the second most populous continent on earth, just behind Asia. It has over 800 million inhabitants in 54 countries, representing about one seventh of the world's population.

The African countries with Portuguese as their official language are Angola, Cape Verde, Guinea-Bissau, Mozambique and Sao Tome and Principe.

Location of Africa on the world map

Countries and capitals

Of Africa's 54 independent countries, 48 ​​are continental and 6 are islands. The following is a list of African countries and their respective capitals.

Continental Countries

South Africa (Cape Town)
Angola (Luanda)
Algeria (Algiers)
Benin (Porto Novo)
Botswana (Gaborone)
Burkina Faso (Ouagadougou)
Burundi (Bujumbura)
Cameroon (Yaounde)
Chad (Ndjamena)
Congo, former Zaire (Kinshasa)
Congo, Republic (Brazzaville)
Ivory Coast (Abidjan)
Djibouti (Djibouti)
Egypt (Cairo)
Eritrea (Asmará)
Ethiopia (Addis Ababa)
Gabon (Libreville)
Gambia (Banjul)
Ghana (Accra)
Guinea (Conakry)
Guinea Bissau (Bissau)
Equatorial Guinea (Malabo)
Lesotho (Maseru)
Liberia (Monrovia)
Libya (Tripoli)
Malawi (Lilongüe)
Mali (Bamako)
Morocco (Rabá)

Mauritania (Nuakchott)
Mozambique (Maputo)
Namibia (Windhoek)
Niger (Niamey)
Nigeria (Abuja)
Kenya (Nairobi)
Central African Republic (Bangui)
Rwanda (Kigali)
Western Sahara (El Aaiún)
Senegal (Dakar)
Sierra Leone (Freetown)
Somalia (Mogadishu)
Swaziland (Lobamba)
Sudan (Khartoum)
Tanzania (Dodoma)
Togo (Lomé)
Tunisia (Tunis)
Uganda (Kampala)
Zambia (Lusaka)
Zimbabwe (Harare)

Island countries

Madagascar Island (Antananarivo)
Cape Verde Islands (Praia Town)
Comoros Islands (Moroni)
Mauritius (Port Louis)
Sao Tome and Principe Islands (Sao Tome)
Seychelles (Victoria)

Other information